Happy Independence Day!

To all my American friends, happy Independence Day. Though a Canadian, I have spend the last few years researching and submerging myself in your Revolutionary War and have come to appreciate the people who sacrificed so much for basic freedoms, who laid the bedrock for the government that many other countries have since adopted.

It has been a wonderful journey to place the character’s in my stories in the paths of real heroes like Francis Marion, Nicholas Herkimer, Colonel Gansevoort, and others. They have come to life and then risked death in battles like Oriskany and Yorktown to name the two most notable.

Don’t take your freedoms for granted. Continue the fight to keep them.

MovingMountains

The Scarlet Coat – Now Available!

Hello all, I am so excited to announce the release of my debut novel, The Scarlet Coat!

copy-of-copy-of-copy-of-shes-trying-to-survive-a-british-invasion-he-is-the-enemy

Here is what’s being said:

“The Scarlet Coat by Angela K. Couch is captivating in the dilemmas it presents, in the characters it introduces, and in the romance it embraces. The history of the era becomes personal and dimensional, and there are moments so wrought with tension that it takes your breath away. Fans of Amber Lynn Perry and Laurie Alice Eakes will feel right at home here, and the issues Couch raises are just as timely today as they were then. A sweet romance with depth and insight into grace and prejudice and forgiveness.” ~ Reading is My Superpower Reviews (Full review here)

“He came to them in a time of death and so much hatred. She was fearful, and tired of the war. Enter the opportunity for love and change and you have the making of a bestseller…

Angela used historical information and details to give this book life. I felt as though I was in this small family, in this big war. I truly have a loss for words to describe how this book read for me. All I can say is that anyone can pick this book up, and they will fall in love with the book. They will want more. I want more.” ~ Bibliophile Reviews (Full review here)

“I absolutely fell in love with this story, getting to know the characters I called friends, the rich historical details, every heart-pounding scene, and even a touch of humor the author included…!”  ~ Trixi Oberembt on Colonial Quills blog.

“This is a thoroughly engaging read, especially for historical fiction/romance lovers, and the last quarter of the book, in particular, kept my eyes riveted to the pages.” ~ Fiction Aficionado (Full review here)

For an interview with me on writing The Scarlet Coat, click here. 🙂

Pinterest Board for The Scarlet Coat here!

Thank you!

The Scarlet Coat     (Hearts at War – Book 1)

TheScarletCoat_w12111_680

A Woman Compelled by Christian Charity
Surrounded by the musket fire of the American Revolution, Rachel Garnet prays for her family to be safe.  When the British invade the Mohawk Valley, and her father and brother don’t return from the battle, she goes in pursuit of them. She finds her brother alive but her father has been killed at the hand of the enemy. Amidst the death, how can she ignore a cry for help…? Rachel reluctantly takes in a badly wounded British officer. But how long can her sense of Christian duty repress her hatred for his scarlet coat?

A Man Lost to the Devastation of War
Passages of Scripture and fleeting images of society are all Andrew Wyndham recalls after he awakens to the log walls of his gentle prison. Even his name eludes him. Rachel Garnet insists he is a captain in the British army. He mourns the loss of his memory, but how can he hope to remember war when his “enemy” is capturing his heart?

A Scarlet Uniform Holds the Power to Unite or Divide
Andrew’s injuries are severe, his memory slow to return, and the secret of his existence too perilous to ignore. As Rachel nurses him back to health, his hidden scarlet coat threatens to expose the deeds of her merciful heart, and Andrew is forced to face a harrowing decision—Stay hidden and risk losing the woman he loves or turn himself in and risk losing his life.

Available at:       Barnes & Noble           Indigo/Chapters         Amazon

Pre-conference mix and mingle [ACFW]

So with ACFW writing conference approaching I am participating in an online get-to-know-you game. Here is the link if you are interested. 🙂

Name: Angela K. Couch

Location: Alberta, Canada

What you write/tagline/trademark: Historical romance, “Making history and fiction fall in love.”

Place in the book world: I have four short stories published in anthologies, one novella released, and my first novel is being released by Pelican Book Group in Jan 2017! I also have four more novels contracted.

On a scale of hugger to 10-foot-pole, please rate your personal space: I’m good for hugs. 🙂 .

Something VERY serious: How do you take your Starbucks? Not a coffee drinker, but I love hot chocolate!

The unique talking points that will get you going for hours: Finances (if I wasn’t writing I would totally be a financial planner!), WWII, American revolution, gardening, training horses, homeschooling.

Loved ones at home you’ll be missing: My husband, 5-year-old son, 3-year-old daughter, and my 17 month-old baby. 😦

Conference goals we can pray for? I have one book I’m pitching this year, and really hoping to make some good connections in the industry… but most importantly with an agent.

Anything we can celebrate with you?  Really excited about the four book series I have with White Rose/ Pelican Book Group! Book one releases in January!

TheScarletCoat_w12111_680

One or two ways we can help you build your platform? It’d be great to connect on Facebook and Twitter. 🙂

What’s in a name?

As a writer of Colonial fiction, one of funnest things to do is choose names for characters. More and more I see the huge influence the Puritans had on what became common names in the American colonies. They also had a lot of names that didn’t rise in popularity as some of the Bible names did, but still hold a lot of meaning…and sometimes a chuckle (like ‘Search-the-Scriptures’, ‘Joy-in-sorrow’ or ‘Sorry-for-Sin’)

Here are a few of my favorites:

For girls: (Besides the usual Bible names)
Berenice
Charis
Charity
Chastity
Comfort
Constance
Chloe
Clemence
Damaris…

Pop over to Colonial Quills for the rest of this blog, including an excerpt from The Scarlet Coat!